Small world

Thousand years ago ‘ancient’ people had believed that the world had edges until Frans Magellan, Christopher Columbus, James Cook and other brave people with their crew sailed the far seas and found the reality that those beliefs were untrue. The concept of the earth changed by then. The concept of earth has changed a couple of times, starting from Earth as was seen as the center of the solar system and changed to the Sun as the center.

The term “what a small world” has been testified by a couple of people when they meet old friends or share same ‘old’ friends. Today a researcher from Nepal visited our research center and it turned out that he is the bos of a close friend of mine who graduated from Hengelosestraat University no 99 😉 . Now I say it “what a small world!“. It has been a common for me to meet someone abroad who also graduated from the same university where I graduated from in Indonesia. But for me it is more surprising if I meet someone from other country who knows closely someone who is a close friend of mine who is also from a different country. It is interesting. The world indeed has seemed to be smaller and smaller. Back to the concept of small world then. For me it is a happy thing. This means that we have more opportunities to meet some old friends. It has become easier now. Just get connected to YM, MSN, or all the internet stuffs then you’re virtually connected. But even a physical meeting can be done with much easier than it was.

It takes you (only) 24 hours maybe to go to NY from Jakarta or 16 hours to Ams. Or there are some occassions where you can arrange meeting. Three weeks ago I went to Enschede (again) and met old friends of mine. Those I mentioned when I had written how social lives affect me, I met them physically again. It was indeed nice one. And for me it is a proof that the earth is small 😉 . This is also mentioned by German researchers here. Well, all dear ‘old’ friends…See you soon 😉

This entry was posted in Opinion, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Small world

  1. Savitri says:

    Thomas Friedman says ‘The World is Flat’.

  2. Pingback: Wonderful Week: Summer Academy in Social Vulnerability 2007 « Saut Sagala

Leave a comment